Who I am

Comedian. Singer.

I grew up in a coastal town in Gippsland.  The youngest of three, seeking attention was always a necessity.  I decided to pursue comedy late in 2011 through a chance sighting of an advertisement for a comedy workshop.  It turned out that it had been the missing link in my life thus far, and the perfect outlet for my creativity, which to that point, had only appeared in random, uncategorised outbursts.  I developed 5 minutes of material, made some contacts and have gone from there.

My love of classical voice began much earlier with a home viewing of a VCR recorded production of Opera Australia’s; The Pirates of Penzance.  Upon the 10th viewing I was an official Helen Donaldson impersonator.

Never pursuing it properly, I only took up VCE music in year 12 when I realised I needed another subject.  Now I find myself in the last year of a Bachelor of Music at The University of Melbourne, wondering where to go next…

I hope to be a dabbler in many a thing over the timeslot that will be allocated to ‘career’.  Singer, comedian, actor and radio and television presenter.  The common thread between all of these is the requirement for constant improvement of and dedication to your craft.

In the immediate future of my career journey, I hope to expand my experience to interstate audiences.  As outlined by career theorist, John Krumboltz, one must be adaptable and able to make the most of opportunities.  I was recently offered a trip to Canberra to compete in a competition and have grasped this with open arms.  I will be performing a split bill show for the Melbourne Fringe festival and continually update and review my career plan to maintain direction.

My placement has shown me the satisfaction one can gain from voluntary work and philanthropy.  I plan on continuing to volunteer at 3MBS, albeit on a smaller scale – as my studies permit.  To be amongst a team of people who dedicate so much of their time to a cause they are most passionate about is truly a privilege.  Working at 3MBS has also furthered my love of radio and I am looking into gaining experience in more areas, including at commercial stations and also developing my own show, as outlined in my career plan.

Leave a Reply

